“Get Back Up Again”

9 Jan

Proverbs 24:16a ESV    for the righteous falls seven times and rises again

I have learned a lot about myself in the last month. I am all about performance. This stems from experiencing a lot of rejection.

I think I have to look a certain way, act a certain way, or be a certain way. Just like anyone else, I want to be loved and accepted. So, there are times, I will go above and beyond just to be loved and accepted.

Needless to say, this has carried into my spiritual life; my walk with Jesus. It’s hard for me to accept my imperfections. It’s hard for me to accept when I mess up. I think that I disappoint God.

I get to the point of giving up. I say, “What’s the use?” “All I do is disappoint God, anyway?” I will “beat” myself up. I am very self-condemning. I have a habit of negative self-talk.

When I am at the point of giving up, God keeps me from completely giving up. I have a dear Godly lady that has told me that I am a fighter. She has told me that I am not a disappointment. She told me, “Christina, when God looks at you, He sees His Son.” She has told me numerous times,” A righteous man falls seven times, but gets back up again.”

I am trying to accept that I am going to fail. I am trying to accept that I will make mistakes. I am trying to accept my imperfections and my humanness. I am trying to learn not to self-condemn. I do NOT want to give up. I know that God has big plans for me, and I do not want to go to hell. There’s a saying, “Satan doesn’t want the ones he already has. He wants the ones he doesn’t have.”

So, if you mess up don’t self- condemn yourself. Don’t let Satan make you feel like a disappointment to God. Remember, “When God looks at you, He sees His Son.” Remember, you are human, and you are imperfect. So, it’s a fact, you will mess up from time to time.

DO NOT GIVE UP!!!! DO NOT LET SATAN KEEP YOU DOWN. Show him that you are victorious through the power of Jesus Christ. “Do not fight for victory; fight from victory.” JUST GET BACK UP AND KEEP TRYING.

Here’s an excerpt from Toby Mac’s “Get Back Up”

We lose our way

We get back up again

It’s never too late to get back up again

You may be knocked down

But not out forever.

So, it’s not about how many times we fall down. It’s about how many times we get back up. So, be sure to get back up.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

