Shifting the Blame

23 Jan

“The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.””
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭3:12-13‬ ‭ESV‬‬

We are living in a time where people want to blame others for their bad decisions and poor choices. They want others to pay for what they have done. These people don’t realize they are responsible for their poor choices and bad decisions.

As always, a great example, starts back in Genesis with Adam and Eve. Eve ate of the fruit that God specifically told her not to eat. She offered it to Adam. Adam accepted the offering from his wife.

The above verses state the shifting of the blame. Adam blamed Eve. Eve blamed the serpent.

In Genesis 3:13, God asks Eve, ““Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” God asked Eve what she had done. He didnt ask anyone else, only Eve.
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭3:13‬ ‭ESV‬‬

In s few verses before that, we see Adam blame Eve. “But the Lord God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?””
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭3:9‬ ESV.”The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.””
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭3:12‬ ‭ESV Once again, the only person God asked Adam. 

After this, God kicked them out of the garden of Eden. In fact, He placed an angel to guard the garden. Adam and Eve would never be able to return to the garden.

Because of their disobedience, they both have to pay for their consequences. This is what happened to Eve: “To the woman he said, “I will surely multiply your pain in childbearing; in pain you shall bring forth children. Your desire shall be for your husband, and he shall rule over you.””
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭3:16‬ ‭ESV‬‬

The same happened to Adam. “And to Adam he said, “Because you have listened to the voice of your wife and have eaten of the tree of which I commanded you, ‘You shall not eat of it,’ cursed is the ground because of you; in pain you shall eat of it all the days of your life; thorns and thistles it shall bring forth for you; and you shall eat the plants of the field. By the sweat of your face you shall eat bread, till you return to the ground, for out of it you were taken; for you are dust, and to dust you shall return.””
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭3:17-19‬ ‭ESV‬

I have to admit. I have been like Adam & Eve. I wanted to blame others for my hurt. I gave God all kinds of excuses why it wasn’t my fault. I also thought that they needed to pay for the my wrong doings. I wanted them to pay the consequences; not me.

That was until I was able to start going to Celebrate Recovery. Celebrate Recovery is a Bible centered group for people of all ages with hurts, habits, and hang ups. It’s a great study to go through. It sure has taught me some life lessons.

We first learn to step out of denial. We are told to quit denying our past mistakes. We are told to not deny our wrong doings in situations. I had to dig deep to see my wrong doing in each situation. Thank God for my sponsor. She helped me to see where I was wrong in situations I didn’t see where I done any wrong doing.

So, things haven’t changed since the time of Adam & Eve. We want to blame our parents, family dysfunction, friends, etc. We want to blame everyone and everything but ourselves. We always want to point the finger at someone else instead of pointing it at ourselves.

Our society expects wants others to pay for their consequences. The lazy expect the government to pay for their food, health care, and schooling. The feminist women’s movement expects the government to pay for abortions and cancer screenings.

These people don’t realize the government isn’t paying for anything. That money has to come from somewhere. That money comes from taxes, which comes from the average working American citizen.

We do NOT have the right to try to make someone else pay for our poor choices and bad decisions. Just like with Adam and Eve, we have to learn with the consequences of our choices and decisions; good or bad. God gave them each their own set of consequences for their disobedience.

Are you in denial of any wrong doing and trying to blame someone else for your decisions? Do you want them to pay the consequences for the decisions you have made?

Here are some questions to ask yourself:

1. What am I denying?

2. Who am I blaming?

3. Why am I blaming that person(s)?

4. What is my part in the situation?

Here’s a prayer that I pray that comes straight from God’s word:

God, I pray that You search me and know me. Know my thoughts. Search my innermost parts. Search the deepest, darkest parts of my heart, soul, and mind. Show me what I need to change. God, give me revelation. In Jesus Name, amen.

I can promise that if you pray this with a heart wide open to God’s correction, God will show you what you need to change. It doesn’t always feel good for Him to dig in the deep, dark places, but I guarantee you that it’s well worth it. God will change you. I am living proof of that.

By the way, there is one person that has already taken on the consequences of your poor choices and bad decisions. He paid the ultimate price to take you consequences upon Himself. That person is Jesus. He is the only one that can right the wrong’s that have been done to you. He can also right the wrongs that You have done. All you have to do is repent and ask Him to forgive you. He is faithful and just in His forgiveness.

 

Leave a Reply

