The Journey to a Better Me

26 May

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”
‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭2:10‬ ‭ESV‬‬

My journey to a better me started in 2009. I had placed a lot of bad experiences in the back of my mind. Let me tell you, a person that can only do that for so long. The experiences of my childhood came back like rushing water that comes from a broken dam.

When I first started my journey, there were things that I didn’t want to deal with. I didn’t want to get to the roots of my issues. To tell you the truth, I was afraid of what I’d find. So, I didn’t totally use the counsel I was receiving at the time.

Well; in 2013, God showed me that I needed to get to the roots of my issues. God “jump started” my healing when I attended a Woman at the Well workshop held by Shannon Ethridge. God showed me some things in the 4 short days I was there.

I decided I was ready to dig out those roots; no matter how much it hurt. I was ready to heal. I was ready to become a better me. I knew God could use my story to help other hurting women, and that’s what I wanted to do.

Since then, God has dug up a lot of roots out of me. He continues to dig out roots more and more; which I am thankful for. I surely couldn’t do it without Him. That’s for sure!!!!

A couple of years ago, I became a part of a sex trafficking ministry. Through that ministry, I met a young woman. I shared a little of my story with her. She told me about OAGW (Overcoming Abuse God’s Way). This would turn out to be one of the best blessings for me.

Through OAGW, I was able to work through childhood abuse. Yet, I still wasn’t getting to the roots of things like anger, bitterness, resentment, self hated, etc. I was a work in progress.

The leader; Janet Napper, offered life coaching to me. I had heard of life coaching, but didn’t know what to expect. I’ll tell you that it’s like counseling but on a much deeper level. God showed me right quick that I had to be willing to dig some more roots out.

Last year, my church, started CR (Celebrated Recovery). Celebrated Recovery is a Bible based program that is drawn from the Beatitudes in the Bible. Matthew 5:3-11. It’s for those with hurts, habits, and hang ups; which I believe is all of us. I don’t believe we can escape this life unscathed.

I also chose to do the step study. Step study help me dig up some more roots; especially when I did my personal inventory. The inventory included events of the past, how it hurt me, and my responsibility in what happened. I’ll say; the inventory included the good and the bad.

Now; over a year later, I still continue to meet with Janet. I continue to attend CR. I resigned from my position on the sex trafficking ministry; which was through God’s guidance. God has allowed me to become Outreach Coordinator of OAGW.

I also decided to go back to school. I’ll be going in the fall; which I almost can’t believe. I’ve been out of school for 26 years. I am excited!!!!

Yet, God isn’t done yet. Like a song says, “I’m unfinished.” God is still working on me. I’ll never arrive on this side of heaven. I won’t reach perfection until I’m in heaven. I’m excited about the future God has laid before me.

Leave a Reply

