Haughtiness and Pride

10 Jun

“Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.”
‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭16:18‬ ‭ESV‬‬

 

I’ve been studying on haughtiness and pride. Now, I don’t claim to be an expert on the matter. I’m human. So, there are times that I mess up when it comes to pride.

Now, I’d like for you to understand I’m not trying to come against a certain people group. The subject of pride affects all of us and the way we think. It doesn’t matter about who or what “group” we identify with.

I didn’t realize this was gay pride month. I’ve been seeing a lot of profile pictures with the word pride across it in all capital letters and rainbow colored. I’m thankful that we live in a country where we can have freedom of speech.

Yet, God’s word teaches against pride. Pride and haughtiness is an abomination to God. It doesn’t matter; Christian or atheist; straight or gay, or whatever you identify yourself as… God hates anyone with pride and haughtiness.

I’m a Bible believing Christian and I struggle with haughtiness and pride. Without God, I wouldn’t know when it rears its ugly head. God continually teaches me. I know I MUST let God dig out ALL of my pride as part of my sanctification. Yet; like all of us, I’ll never be perfect on this side of heaven. I will give into my flesh and let my pride come out.

I MUST continually pray for God to search me and know me. If I don’t, I won’t realize when my pride comes out. Also, I don’t know when I need to repent about my pride. God is always faithful to answer this prayer for me.

Without God, I can be very prideful and full of haughtiness. Through my study on the subject, God has been teaching me about humility. After all, Jesus was the perfect picture of humility. He exemplified humility from before His birth until His resurrection. After all, He left the splendor of heaven to live among us. Jesus was and is the greatest example of humility. In my opinion, His greatest act of humility was when He was hanging on the cross. Jesus said, “Father, forgive them.” (Can be found in all of the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John).

How are you with haughtiness? This following quote comes from Merriam Webster. It describes haughtiness. “The word has strong negative connotations. Someone who is described as “haughty” is proud in the worst way. This is not the pride a parent feels for a child who’s worked hard at something, and it’s not the pride a marathoner feels for completing a race. The word haughty communicates a kind of pride that is obviously full of contempt for others deemed inferior or unworthy. ” Even as a secular quote, it states that haughtiness is the worst.

The best example of humility…read about Jesus in the Bible.  I’d also recommend reading, “Humility, The Journey Towards Holiness” by Andrew Murray. With this combined with prayer, God will show you about your haughtiness. He’s faithful to those who diligently seek Him. He draws near to those that draw near to Him.

Pray and cry out to God. He will show you what you need to change. He will change your haughtiness and pride into humility.

I also read this study. This is where God pricked my heart and showed me a lot.

https://www.reviveourhearts.com/radio/revive-our-hearts/pride-test-2/

Leave a Reply

